Recipe for Potato Candy! 

I recently posted pictures of my favorite sweets and one of them was “potato candy” a few people still don’t know what potato candy is! Idk if it’s a thing around my town, but it’s a known recipe here. 

I decided to make a batch of it tonight, so I thought “why not make a post on how to make it!” 

You’ll need: 

  *Plus milk and vanilla extract (if you want)*

  • 1 potato (but you only use half
  • one bag of pure confectioner sugar (you’ll use half the bag!)
  • a jar of peanut butter (only need two spoon full)

Directions: 

  1.       Peel the potato, and put into water. Let boil until the potato is completely soft. 
  2.   Next you’re going to mash the potato, but only use half of the mashed potato for the candy. (The rest I usually throw away or save for the next night dinner
  3.     Next add confectiner sugar and whip. 
  4.   Your mixture will start to look really runny, keep adding confectiner sugar and stirring until the mixture turns into a dough like substance. 
  5.    Once you have the dough like substance, start kneading the dough with more confectiner sugar on a flat surface with your *clean* hands.  It’ll then look like this. Smooth it out. 
  6.   Then spread your peanut butter onto the dough. (Try to not push hard on the spoon, you don’t want your dough too flat)
  7.   Now start to roll up your dough! (I had mine a little too flat, all you need to do is add some sugar under each time you roll over the dough. The more suagr, the less sticky)
  8.    Carefully place the rolled up dough onto a plate. (I used a spatula) Then place the plate into the fridge. 
  9.   After 2 hours (or until somewhat hardened) cut into small long pieces. Then put back into fridge for more time. 
  10. Once the candy is cold and hardened, it’s time to eat! 


Goodnight! Eating some candy and then going to bed! Hope everyone had a good day! 

✌🏽️🤘🏼🖖🏽 

 

13 comments

  1. radicalmermaid · March 1, 2016

    I have never heard or seen that before..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cally · February 29, 2016

    l plan to do more baking and cooking. Looking forward to trying it at the weekend. I love the title potatoe candy, such an an appetising name. Take care Cally.

    Liked by 1 person

    • yourenotaloneinthisworld · February 29, 2016

      Yes! If you do try to make this, please let me know how it turns out! It’s seriously amazing, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

      Like

  3. gettingthroughanxiety · February 29, 2016

    I might have to try this one day! Thanks for the recipe!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Annabeth · February 29, 2016

    Whoa! Looks interesting! I’ve never had potato candy before! xP

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.