Writing Blogging Challenge: Day 3! 

Day 3: “Describe your relationship with your parents”. 

My mom: Mary. 

My mom isn’t a big “picture taker” and this is the only picture that I have of her on my phone. You can tell this is a late 90s early 2000s photo with them outfits lol.  My mom has been my rock since I was a baby. We weren’t the best of friends while I was growing up, especially my teenage years. I put this woman through a lot of hell, and said a lot of things to her that I wish I could take back. She’s an amazing mom, and she has no idea how much she means to me. I’m not the best at showing my emotions with my family. Now that I’ve gotten older, we’ve grown a lot closer and have a bond stronger than we ever have before. My mom is the strongest woman I’ve ever met, she’s been through hell n back and is still a strong independent woman. She’s worked hard her whole life, and never stops for a second to think about herself. She’s made me the woman I am today, and I’m glad we’ve became as close as we are. I am lucky to have her as a mother, friend, rock, and friend. I love you too the moon n back momma:) 

My Father: Steve. 

My dad is the person I considered to be my best friend when I was growing up. We had our special days where we’d wake up every weekend at 5-6am and go fishing all day, bring home some fish, skin and cook them. I thought I’d be a “daddy’s girl” my whole life. Once I started to get older, I started to notice my dad was different than other dads. He had an addiction to alcohol that caused him to leave our family. We tried staying close, but the truth comes out when people are drunk, well that’s what they say anyway. My father and I started to have our problems as I got older, and he got more and more into the bottle. He left my mom and I for another woman, who he had been seeing pretty much my whole life. The “father” I knew in this picture, isn’t the father I know today. We still talk, we’re still on good terms, we still visit with each other, and he’d still do anything for me. But we’re not as close as I thought we would be. Don’t get me wrong, my father is an amazing man, a loving man, he just doesn’t know how to show it. I believe my father has schizophrenia and has his whole life, but he used alcohol instead of finding help. I still love my dad, and always will, he’s my father, he gave me life. I have amazing memories with my dad, but they’re all when I was a child. We could be a lot closer than we are today. He still does a lot for me, but doing a lot and loving are two different things. I’d do anything to have the friendship we had when I was kid, today as an adult. I love ya dad! 

✌🏽️🤘🏼🖖🏽

4 comments

  1. Swetha M · July 9, 2016

    Beautiful post, turned me into an emo vermin! In any disheartening situation, I always think, could’ve been worse…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. happyalexx · July 9, 2016

    This will such an emotive post, I’ve got a lump in my throat. Our mums seem very similar, I’m always blown away with how strong my mother is. I’m sorry that you aren’t as close with your Dad as you used to be, alcoholism can be an awful thing, but it’s really good how you’re still there for him.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.