Coziness. 

My definition of cozy is warm, with a fan running for silence, vaporizer running taking the moisture out of the air, essentials defuser letting off therapeutic scents, lights strung up glowing the room.

 My definition of cozy is what I try to have in our bedroom. Our room is my sacred place, where I need to feel safe. My sleeping spot is up against the wall, next to Nikki. I keep my feet tucked under the blankets at all times. I’ve never felt comfortable letting my bare feet dangle over the bed, have you ever seen “are you afraid of the dark” or “don’t look under the bed”, that’s why. It’s weird how many “must” you have to have or have to do before you can comfortably fall asleep, but why? 

I think it’s due to the fact that we are most vulnerable while asleep, taking a shower, using the restroom. Those are my number 3 most terrified places to be if someone where to break in. I sleep closest to the wall because, if someone where to break in, I have an excuse of why I can’t go look first. I’m also not the first person in reaching distance if someone where to be lurking around in our room. 

I never have my bedroom blinds open, too much light kills the “cozy” feel, in my opinion. 

My fan is constantly running on high, even in the middle of winter with the heat on high. It’s not because of the air, it’s because of the noise. The white noise that comes from the running fan, puts me to sleep comfortably. 

A diffuser can add so many therapeutic scents into the air, whether it’s to help you sleep, calm your anxiety, help your depression, or cleanse your mind, it’s a great thing to have! 

My lights are barely on, I usually have the orange and purple Halloween lights I have lit up in my room. They leave a semi orange tint with a little bit of black light feel in the room, which I feel is soothing for my eyes. Our bedroom doesn’t have a normal door like most people. Instead we have on of those folding slide doors that run on a track? Ya know, the kind you get at lowes and can install in 5 minutes, that kind. In order for me to fall asleep comfortbaly, I can not see out this door. If I can see any light, I’m stuck staring at the door way all night waiting to see something staring back at me. I can’t shut the door either due to the animals would be freaking out all night if they weren’t in our room with us. 

My vaporizer is running usually during the morning and at night while we sleep. It feel it helps the stuffiness that being in the mountains during fall or spring can cause. At least it helps Nikki and I, especially when we buy the Vicks Vapor Spray that goes into the vaporizer, works wonders! The little green light it gives off also works for a little night light! 

What helps you fall asleep at night? Do you have any “must” for you to sleep comfortably? Let me know! 

✌🏽️🖖🏽🤘🏽

12 comments

  1. Tikeetha T · October 24

    I keep the fan on as well. Even in the winter. Very cozy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. annebella & kate · October 20

    Essential oils are soothing, other than that – I work night shift so I sleep like a log, in the bright light during the day – don’t even have the room darkening shades. I can see how cool it would be to have a bedroom be a sacred place the way you have it set up- maybe when I get back on day shift? One can hope 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not the Average Mama · October 19

    I swear by essential oils! There is one called Stress Away by Young Living (it’s lime and vanilla) and I swear by it! Love your cozy room!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yourenotaloneinthisworld · October 19

      Thank You!! I’ll have to check it out, I swear by them too, they do wonders for my anxiety.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Not the Average Mama · October 19

        If you need any info on any essential oils or want to know what will help you personally, let me know! I’m a guru 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • yourenotaloneinthisworld · October 19

          Well, where is your number one place to for essentials? I usually shop online for them, but there are so many different sites!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Not the Average Mama · October 19

          NOW essential oils are good. I’ve found them on Groupon and at Whole Foods, or even Amazon. I personally love Young Living essential oils, but for the basic oils, NOW oils are pretty good!

          Liked by 1 person

        • yourenotaloneinthisworld · October 19

          I’m pretty sure it’s Young Living that I have in the room…but we have a place around here that’s called Sentsy, it’s like a Avon thing, you find someone local selling, you buy off of them. They have awesome essential oils and so does doTERRA. I’ve never tried doTERRA but I’ve heard amazing things about them.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Not the Average Mama · October 19

          doTerra is like Young Living, my sister in law sells doTerra — sensty is like a solid oil that burns right? I’ve heard that burning something into an oil isn’t so good for your health.

          Liked by 1 person

        • yourenotaloneinthisworld · October 20

          It use to be like that. Scentsy has oils now that are liquid:)

          Like

Comments are closed.