Autism. 

I’m writing this as I am curious. I’ve been  doing research lately on Autism and actually stumbled a cross a quiz for parents to tell if their child could be autistic. 

After reading a few things, I felt a few similarities, actually a lot of similarities of Autism to how I feel and portray a lot of things in life. With this being said I went ahead and took said quiz, my results were shocking but not kind of what I was expecting? My total was 33. 34 & up is “Autism Likely”. I took the quiz on multiple websites and received the same result each time. 

So with all this being said, I’m asking people who are diagnosed with Autism or have a child/relative/friend with Autism, what is it? 

I’ve read the explanation websites give about it, but I’ve also read what the website says about Paranoid Schizophrenia and half of it is true for me. 

So I guess what I’m saying, I’m curios, I’m curios to know exactly how said Autistics go about their lives? 

Should I be on medication or something for this? Should I talk to my doctor about this possibility? 

I babysat one autistic kid in my teenage days and remember the child being just like any other kid I’d babysit. But I only babysat him twice, so I never really got to know the child, or see him at his “worse”. 

Please, explain to me about autism. 

✌🏼️🤘🏼🖖🏼

 

3 comments

  1. anxietygirl365 · December 6

    That totally makes sense. The things you said “yes” to were probably more related to your established diagnoses vs autism. I also think though, that a label/diagnosis doesn’t mean as much as YOUR experience with those things.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. anxietygirl365 · December 5

    Hi friend 🙂 I haven’t been on much lately but in catching up I just read this post. I work in the field of mental health and would totally be happy to share some of what I know about the Autism population. I certainly can’t speak for everyone and I can only share my professional (and some personal) experiences, but I’m happy to do so. My idea of Autism is that it is generally a difficulty with social interaction/communication. Difficulty with reading or expressing emotions and difficulty adjusting behavior to fit social situations. There are also usually some restrictive behaviors (strictly adhering to routine, for example), and fixated interests (like the kid who knows every dinosaur name and info).
    One thing I would say is that when you take an online quiz, it is clearly only testing for one thing. It doesn’t account for other factors or possible diagnoses like a psychiatrist or therapist would. It’s good to get an idea of where you may have some struggles, but I wouldn’t put too much weight on the test results. The things you answered “yes” to might just as easily be attributed to something else. For example, awkwardness in social settings could be autism, or it could be social anxiety.

    Liked by 1 person

    • yourenotaloneinthisworld · December 5

      I am diagnosed paranoid schizophrenic, social anxiety, depression and ADHD. A lot of my yes answers were to things like constant behavior, not changing the way I do things daily, social situations being very difficult, difficulties with cooperating when reading/listening.

      Thank you so much for this post!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.