The Shocking Reality of Mental Health Stigma

“In the past years, Western countries had open discussion about homophobia, sexism, or racism – so when are we finally going to have the mental health talk?”

When I was sixteen years old, I decided to go on an exchange year abroad. What I thought would be a wonderful experience turned out to be the toughest, but undeniably the most enriching time of my life.

Upon coming to England, my fantasy of a fun year abroad was shattered. I did not do well in my A-levels. I could not make friends. I had conflicts with my host family. I experienced my first break-up, a true tragedy for any teenager. The stress was too intense for a sixteen-year-old me. However, I pretended as everything was fine – I did not want to be the weak one. But the suppression did not work for long. The stress manifested itself into something I…

View original post 1,087 more words

3 comments

  1. socialworkerangela · April 8

    I had a long distance relationship with a man in Australia. I was undiagnosed but everyone knew I was “off” he told me I had to act normal to come live with him or he’d lose rights to his son. Needless to say it didn’t work out.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.